New Zealand School Holidays 2021

I may receive a commission if you sign up or make a purchase after clicking a link on this page. Read the full disclosure policy here

Below we list all the New Zealand school holiday dates for 2021. Note the flexibility around start and finish dates is left up to the school so the best place to check your exact dates for New Zealand school holidays are with your school.

2021 school terms and school holiday dates

Term 1
Number of weeks Between 10-11
Term start and end dates Starts between Monday 1 February and Tuesday 9 February and ends Friday 16 April 
Public holidays Waitangi Day (observed) – Monday 8 February, and Easter: Good Friday – 2 April, Easter Monday – 5 April, Easter Tuesday – 6 April (a school holiday)
School holidays Saturday 17 April to Sunday 2 May
(includes ANZAC Day – 25 April)
Term 2
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 3 May to Friday 9 July
Public holidays Queen’s Birthday – Monday 7 June
School holidays Saturday 10 July to Sunday 25 July
Term 3  
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 26 July to Friday 1 October
Public holidays None
School holidays Saturday 2 October to Sunday 17 October 
Term 4 
Number of weeks Up to 10
Term start and end dates Starts Monday 18 October, and
ends, for all schools, no later than Monday 20 December
Public holidays Labour Day – Monday 25 October, Christmas Day – Saturday 25 December, Boxing Day – Sunday 26 December, and New Year’s Day – Saturday 1 January 2022
School holidays 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year) 

The flexibility around end dates ensures the school has been open for 380 half days in 2021 as per the Ministry of Education. More information can be found here.

 

About Emma Healey

Emma is a recognised family finance and budgeting expert and founder of Mum's Money. Her advice has been featured in Readers Digest, Yahoo Finance, Lifehacker, The Simple Dollar, MSN Money and more.

Leave a comment